Books, Music, Television and Movies

Bookish Games ~ The Letter L!

Thank you to the blog, Raised Reading, for giving me this great and fun blog idea! The point of the game is to pick any letter from the alphabet and, using that letter, fill in your favorite book, author, etc.

I am using the letter “L.” How did I come up with this letter? Well, I asked my sister to give me any number between 1 and 26, and she answered 12. And, in case you don’t know, the 12th letter in the alphabet is “L.”

Favorite Book Starting with L

After finding out my letter, I literally laughed out loud because my all time favorite book starts with “L.” And that book (actually series) is…

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Surely anyone reading this blog has at least heard of this series, so I don’t really need to do any explaining about it. It might seem overdone, but these books really are my favorite, ever since I read them in sixth grade. Since then, I have reread them twice, have taken a college course about them, and am ready to read them again.

Since no other book really had a fighting chance, I thought I’d include some honorable mentions: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis; and The Last Sin Eater by Francine Rivers.

 

Book I Want to Read That Starts with the letter L

This category was a little more difficult than the last one. I had to go to my Goodreads account, just to refresh my memory. I only found a few “L” books that I want to read, and the one that I especially want to read is…

Lenten Lands by Douglas Gresham

Never heard of it? Well, I’m not surprised. I just found out about it less than a year ago…and then immediately added it to my Amazon wishlist. It is actually an autobiography and is the inspiration for the wonderful movie Shadowlands, which–though it stars Anthony Hopkins–is also not well-known.

Douglas Gresham is the stepson of C.S. Lewis and–from my understanding–Lenten Lands describes his life growing up with C.S. Lewis. I think it also contains the story of how his mother met and married C.S. Lewis, which is what Shadowlands is about.

The honorable mentions for this category are: Lilith by George MacDonald, Lorna Doone by R.D. Blackmore, and The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

 

Favorite Author Starting with the Letter L

After reading the previous category, you should know that the answer to this category should obviously be…

C.S. Lewis

Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia is one of my all-time favorite series. I’ve read them and listened to them more times than I can count. Focus on the Family Radio Theater has made some amazing dramatized audio versions of all seven books. When I say dramatized, I mean that there are sound effects and different voices for all of the characters. Aslan’s voice is a little silly, if you think about it too much, but I still love it. If you like the series at all, you should definitely check these audio books out.

Also by C.S. Lewis, I’ve read Surprised by Joy, A Grief Observed, Out of the Silent Planet, Letters to Children, and more. The next book I want to read by him is Reflection on the Psalms.

There’s only one honorable mention for this category: L.M. Montgomery, who is known for Anne of Green Gables.

 

Favorite Song Starting with the Letter L

This one was pretty difficult, since I like a lot of music. I had to search my itunes, and I still couldn’t decide. So, after thinking long and hard about it, I wish to introduce to you…

“The Life of a Pirate” by Cady Groves

I thought about doing “Lighthouse’s Tale” by Nickel Creek, but this one is more fun. The other honorable mentions are: “Lead Me On” by Bethany Dillon, “Loved” by JJ Heller, and “Love is Marching” by BarlowGirl.

 

Favorite Movie Starting with the Letter L

As you should know, Lord of the Rings is my favorite but, since I’ve already talked about the books, I’ll say something about one of my other favorite movies:

Little Women

Yes, this is based off of the book. Some people have told me that they like it better than the book. I wouldn’t know, since I haven’t read it. I can’t imagine how the book could be better. Every time I watch it, I cry. I bawl like a baby. It’s so sad! The music just has to play…and I start crying. But it’s a good, refreshing cry. Know what I mean?

Well, that’s it for now. Feel like playing? Then pick a letter and start writing. Or let me know what your “L” favorites are.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

