Books · Television and Movies

My NERD-alicious Bucket List

So, here it goes everyone. After these five months of blogging, I just thought I should let you know something important about myself. You might have been able to tell from my previous posts, but here it is straight out: I’m a big, giant NERD!

Okay, there. I said it, and there’s no taking it back. But I guess I should explain a little further, since there are different kinds of nerds. You know those guys from “The Big Bang Theory.” That is NOT me. I don’t even like that show at all. Not one bit.

Nope, I’m a cool nerd. Or that’s what I like to think. Except I’m not really that cool. Okay, so I’m just a regular nerd, but I don’t go freaking out strangers with my complete nerd-dom. For example, I won’t dress up as a hobbit for this year’s midnight showing of The Battle of Five Armies. The only reason I would ever dress up as anything is if I was at a Halloween party where several other adults were dressing up, as well.

So what am I a nerd about? Well, here’s the list: The Lord of the RingsChronicles of NarniaHarry PotterDoctor Who, and Merlin.

That’s about it, except for those old sentimental T.V. shows, like “Little House on the Prairie” and “Dr Quinn, Medicine Woman.” Don’t laugh.

Oh, and I also like The Hunger Games and Divergent a lot. Not sure if that counts.

As a nerd, I have acquired several nerdy goals that I wish to accomplish at some point during my life, and you’re about to read about a few of them. Hey, maybe you want to do some of the same things yourself, which would make you…AWESOME!

1. First up, I want to visit New Zealand and see something having to do with Middle Earth while I’m there. Yesterday, I actually saw a posting for The Hobbit Fan Fellowship Contest and got a little ahead of myself daydreaming about the possibilities. The prize for this contest is a paid trip to New Zealand AND a viewing of the first official screening of The Battle of Five Armies WITH Peter Jackson! In one word, this would be…EPIC! I was so close to filling in my information when I saw that a video entry was also required. That’s when I snapped out of my daydream and came back to reality. I also realized that I would be way too in-awe of Peter Jackson to just sit back and watch his movie with him. But for the person who does win, I wish them good luck. I’m just a little bit jealous.

2. Next on the list, I want to go to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. I’m not really interested in anything else about Disney World, but I would go just to pretend for a little while that I was in Harry Potter’s world. What’s weird is that I saw a contest for this yesterday, too. It seems as though my dreams are calling out to me! My goals want to be reached!

3. Last of all for this post–Comic-Con! I have been wanting to go for a long while, but I don’t know how much longer this dream will last. All my favorite shows are ending. Merlin‘s gone. This is the last year for The Hobbit. Really, this next year might be the last year it would be really worth it for me to go. Maybe I’ll actually make it there! Unlikely…but a girl can dream.

6 thoughts on “My NERD-alicious Bucket List

Leave a Reply

