Books, Holidays, Library, Television and Movies

Happy Hobbit Day!

Good morning, all! It’s so crazy to be making a post this early in the day. Usually, I post late at night when there’s actually time to sit down and write. But today is a special occasion because…today’s HOBBIT DAY! Just in case you’re wondering, I did not make this up. It’s actually a thing. Just google it. There’s a lot on wikipedia about it (which, of course, can be trusted 😉 ). Or, you can read this little featurrette I found at geekdays.com. I literally just found this website, but it seems to tell the basics of Hobbit Day pretty well.

So what is Hobbit Day? Well, if you don’t want to click on the link above, here’s a little explanation of my own: In The Lord of the Rings, September 22nd is Bilbo and Frodo’s birthdays. For this reason, someone declared September 22nd to be international Hobbit Day, and I’m glad about it. Apparently, people everywhere have hobbit-themed parties, with hobbit food and hobbit games and hobbit costumes everywhere. There are a lot of ideas on Pinterest about how to celebrate. One example is the photo below, which is from Buzzfeed.

My Hobbit Day plans are simpler than those listed above. As a librarian, celebrating Hobbit Day is really part of the job. 🙂 We’re having a big day at the library by eating all the food we can find (because–as you should know–hobbits eat a lot). Then, tonight, we’re watching The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. We also have some decorations for the day, and a few people will be dressing up. I’m not dressing up, though, but at least I tried (and failed) to find a decent–but inexpensive–costume. Instead, I’m wearing this rockin’ outfit:

140922-102138

Yes, that is the one ring you see around my neck. Don’t be too jealous!

So, now that you know what Hobbit Day is, go forth and celebrate!

As an end note–since it’s my niece’s birthday, also–here’s a crazy adorable (though sideways) video snippet of her singing Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” from The Desolation of Smaug. Some of the lyrics are off, but that makes it even more adorable! Oh, I’m so proud to have such hobbit-crazed nephews and nieces!

p.s. Is anyone else excited about Hobbit Day, or is it just me?

3 thoughts on “Happy Hobbit Day!”

Leave a Reply

