Books

Teen Read Week…and Finding my Faction

With the stress caused by school lately, blogging is absolute bliss. And what’s even better–this week is Teen Read Week! The week is about to end, but there’s still plenty of time to blog about it. For an explanation of this special week, you may click here. Teen books especially deserve a week of their own because there are so many of them. At my age, I really should be moving past junior fiction books and delving into the adult fiction section at my library—which I do, sometimes, if I ever have time. But it doesn’t happen as much as I’d like. The problem is that there are so many well known junior fiction/teen books that I want to read. And these tend to be the books on my want-to-read list. For example:

  • The Mortal Instruments series, by Cassandra Clare
  • The Inheritance Cycle, by Christopher Paolini
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs
  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret, by Brian Selznick
  • From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, by E.L. Konigsburg
  • Sarah, Plain and Tall, by Patricia MacLachlan
  • The Tale of Despereaux, by Kate DiCamillo
  • Inkheart, by Cornelia Funke
  • The Schwa Was Here, by Neal Shusterman

These are just some of the books on my list. And more books keep coming out! People keep making all these movies from books, and then I’ll automatically have to put the book on my list. Then I’ll have to finish it before the movie comes out, which postpones my other books. It’s pretty complicated. Having too many good books to read is a good problem to have, though. What are some of the books on your reading list? Any suggestions?

One of the series coming out into movies is Divergent, and I cannot wait for the next movie. Last night, my library had a Divergent night to recognize Teen Read Week. We even had a little aptitude test for everyone to take, to see which faction they would fit into. I actually already knew my faction by taking this online quiz. I love this quiz because it splits up the results into all of the factions’ qualities. Here are my results:

I’m Amity all the way! But I’m not so brave or truthful, according to the quiz. What’s funny is that my sister took this and got almost opposite results. She was very brave, followed by truthful, but kindness wasn’t her thing. It’s just so fun! What are some of your results?

1 thought on “Teen Read Week…and Finding my Faction”

Leave a Reply

