Holidays, Inspirational

A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

Thanksgiving month is upon us again! My, how time flies. Summer seems like yesterday, and now I’m already seeing Christmas decorations out (with a hint of turkeys and cornucopias scattered about). This is the time of year when people thank God for what he has provided. I know we should be thanking him all year long, but hopefully this month of thanksgiving will serve as a reminder.

Every year, there are those people who post on social media every day in November about something they’re thankful for. I don’t mind this, except that I always know what people are going to say: family, friends, etc. This is completely okay, since family and friends are a huge blessing in people’s lives–mine included. I just don’t want to start my first Thanksgiving post with those things that everyone already knows I’m thankful for. Instead, I’ve chosen to compile a list of fifty random things that I’m thankful for. I’ll save the things I’m most thankful for for later on.

Fifty things I’m thankful for (in no particular order)

  1. Green grass
  2. Book stores
  3. Scottish accents
  4. Chocolate
  5. Freddy’s burgers
  6. Music
  7. Art
  8. November Daylight Savings Time
  9. Cute puppies
  10. C.S. Lewis
  11. J.R.R. Tolkien
  12. Jane Austen
  13. Francine Rivers
  14. Air conditioning
  15. Focus on the Family Radio Theatre
  16. Cookies
  17. The extinction of dinosaurs
  18. Stars
  19. Hallmark Christmas movies
  20. Nail polish
  21. Cars
  22. Cameras
  23. Weekends
  24. My apartment
  25. Pianos
  26. Rainbows
  27. Crocheting
  28. Straighteners
  29. Fairy Tales
  30. Flowers
  31. The Bible
  32. Laughter
  33. Letters (the kind you mail, not the ABCs.)
  34. White, puffy clouds
  35. My bed
  36. Jokes
  37. Imagination
  38. Owls
  39. Beavers
  40. Sheep
  41. Sleep
  42. Unicorns
  43. Dreams (both day and night)
  44. Knights
  45. Cardigans
  46. Hot chocolate
  47. Rainy days
  48. Hummingbirds
  49. Old-timey records
  50. Decorating for the holidays

What are you thankful for?

Anyone else remember this? Because it’s true!

1 thought on “A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart”

Leave a Reply

