Holidays

Thankful for: My Family (aka The Hawkins Clan)

In my first Thanksgiving post, I listed 50 not-so-typical items that I’m thankful for, since usually no one gets past the basic (but nonetheless amazing) blessings. Well, this post is different…more of a normal Thanksgiving post, in which I want to express my thankfulness for…MY FAMILY. But I also want to take it a bit further and use this opportunity to talk about my family for a bit, since they’re a big part of my life.

The most obvious characteristic of my family is that there’s a lot of us. In all, I have three brothers, six sisters, two sisters-in-law, three nephews, and (soon-to-be) three nieces. It’s been a crazy time growing up, with sibling quarrels and big messes. It was especially awkward in grade school when we had to go around the class and list all of our family members and their ages. I can’t even recall everyone’s ages now! There was even a time we had to draw our entire family. Needless to say, I was the last one finished. Nevertheless, it was fun time growing up. I can only imagine how boring it would be without a big family.

Throughout the years, I’ve started to memorize the questions that people ask when they find out about the size of my family. Perhaps some of you have faced similar questions. Here are some of them (along with the answers):

  • Is anyone adopted? –No
  • Are they all from the same parents? –Yes
  • Are there any twins? –No
  • With so many people, am I close to everyone? –Yes
  • Out of the ten kids, where do I fall? –I’m the 7th.
  • Do I have a favorite sibling? –I’ll avoid answering this question.
  • How often does everyone get together? –Everyone in town gets together at least once a week.
  • Does everyone live close by? –We all live in a total of four cities in Oklahoma and Missouri

And so on. These conversations can go on and on. We’re not as big as the Duggars or anything, but still people seem amazed.

Here’s the most recent photo of my wonderful family. I have a niece due at the end of the month (which I’m SO excited about), so we’ll have to get a new one eventually.

This is an earlier photo, which shows our true nature…

 In the title, I mentioned the Hawkins clan. Yep, that’s us. We’re a mixture of English, Scottish, a tiny bit of Irish, and maybe some more of something else, but we’re a clan. We even made a shirt once, so it’s official.

2 thoughts on “Thankful for: My Family (aka The Hawkins Clan)”

  1. Wow!!!! How fun to grow up in such a big family!!! I have always wanted that, but with one 9 month old, I don’t know if I could have 9 more, she is a handful.

Leave a Reply

