Books

Reading, Re-Reading, and a bit of Narnia

I can hardly believe it’s been over two weeks since my last blog post, and that I haven’t even logged into my WordPress account during those two weeks. It’s sad, really. I blame it on school and the horrible paper which is due tonight but which I turned in yesterday (praise the Lord!). I’ve thought about my neglected blog often, but every spare chance I found was filled with organizing and writing my paper. But that’s over, and now it’s on to Christmas break. ūüôā

I just realized (and I apologize for this) that I told a fib just now. The neglect of my blog these past two weeks can’t be blamed entirely on school work. Some of my evenings were spent pouring over a deliciously wonderful book called The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. In fact, you should expect a book review of it within the next couple weeks (since I won’t have as much to distract me). Though I just finished reading it this afternoon, I’ve known for quite awhile that I would attempt a review for my blog. I just enjoyed it so much from start to finish! But I’ll write more about it later.

Though I mention books a lot on my blog, I rarely read more than one book at a time. So you should be impressed that I have been re-reading The Hobbit at the same time as my other book. I did this out of desperation, realizing that this will be my last time to read the book before I see the last movie. After that, I will have the complete movie-version of the book in my head.

I’ve been on a re-reading kick lately. After¬†The Hobbit, I’m going to read¬†The Lord of the Rings¬†again. It’s been four years since I’ve read them, and there’s just so much in them that I probably don’t remember. After that–unless I get distracted by something else–I¬†will¬†read¬†Lenten Lands¬†by Douglas Gresham. Gresham is the step-son of C.S. Lewis, and this book tells about what it was like growing up with C.S. Lewis. With that book in my head, I then plan on re-reading¬†The Chronicles of Narnia, which I am extremely excited about.

This year in our library, we’re have a Narnia-themed Christmas. Not only are we watching¬†The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, but we also hung up several quotes from the books all over the library.¬†Narnia¬†quotes always get to me. Once I happened upon a¬†Narnia¬†quote book while I was shelf-reading at work. Of course, I couldn’t help but flip through the pages. And there I was for about ten minute–sitting on the library floor with the little quote book bringing happy tears to my eyes. Here are a few¬†of my¬†favorite¬†Narnia¬†quotes:

  • “I’m on Aslan’s side even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.” —The Silver Chair
  • ¬†“All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on forever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.” —The Last Battle
  • “The term is over: the holidays have begun. The dream is ended: this is the morning.” —The Last Battle
  • ‚ÄúYou would not have called to me unless I had been calling to you.”–The Silver Chair
  • ‚ÄúFurther up and further in.‚ÄĚ–The Last Battle

As I said, these are only a few of my favorites. I actually only quoted from two books, but the other books are full of treasures, as well. What are some of your favorite quotes?

My computer is low on battery, now, so I had better finish up. When I started writing, I had meant for this post to be a “Hello, I’m still alive” kind of post…but then I kept writing. I guess my heart and mind and fingertips are just in the mood for blogging.

Capture

~~~

References

Lewis, C.S. 2005. The Chronicles of Narnia. New York: HarperCollinsPublishers.

2 thoughts on “Reading, Re-Reading, and a bit of Narnia

  1. Great post! I’ve never heard of Lenten Lands but I will have to check it out – that sounds so interesting! I heard a while ago that there is a movie in the works about C. S. Lewis and Tolkien coming out at some point in the future too. I’m not sure when but I definitely want to see it!

    1. I heard about the new movie, too, and I’m so excited to see it! I just hope they do a good job!

      There’s also a movie that came out awhile back called Shadowlands, which is inspired from the book Lenten Lands. I don’t know how accurate it is, but I read a review that says Douglas Gresham approves. It’s a great movie, but very hard to come by.

      Thanks for the comment! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

