Crafts and Projects

The Satisfaction of Completed Crafts

I have noticed a trend in my blogging habits lately: the quantity of posts has plummeted since the start of the  new year. Last fall, I was doing pretty great–a blog a week and pretty proud of myself. But then during Christmas, I tasted the sweet freedom of no homework and ever since then I’ve avoided my computer screen as much as possible. Don’t get me wrong–I enjoy blogging. I’ve just been enjoying other things more, lately–reading, for one. This year, I’ve already read almost six books, which is a lot for me. During the hectic times of the last few years, I’ve been lucky to finish a book a month. Oh, how I wish I could zoom through books like others do.

This year, and the end of last year, I’ve also crafted a lot, too, and with this post I wish to brag on some of my creations. During my last crafty post, back in September, I was only just beginning crafts which have long since been completed. First, I was only just learning how to crochet. I thought making a blanket would take months, but I was able to finish one in a month and a half. Of course, this is nothing compared to my older sister, who must have some crocheting super power. She can easily whip out a blanket in less than a week. A glimpse of my blanket is shown below. I’ve gotten a lot of use out of it already, so it might be in tatters before long. That’s all right, though, because I’m itching to begin another project.

IMG_20150216_150148

In September I also bought an end table which was the color of murky brown. I painted it last fall, and it has definitely helped to brighten up my living room.

 

BEFORE
BEFORE
AFTER
AFTER

Speaking of redoing furniture, here’s something else of mine from about a year and a half ago. Redoing furniture is not my favorite thing to do (especially sanding), but I definitely the enjoy the end results.

IMG_20150216_151435

Lastly, I just hung up this necklace/scarf/purse holder in my room. I just love it, and it was so easy to make. And cheap, also! I just found a piece of scrap wood screwed on various handles and knobs.

IMG_20150216_151215

So there you have it. These are the things I have been creating instead of blog posts, but hopefully I’ll be able to keep up with both in the future. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Satisfaction of Completed Crafts”

Leave a Reply

