Books

A New Favorite Book!

Every once in a while, I’ll read a book and have to tell everyone about it–whether they want to listen or not. I am currently in this state of infatuation with Kate DiCamillo’s The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane.

 

I started it Sunday night and finished reading last night (Tuesday). So far, all of my coworkers and most of my family and friends have heard about my new favorite book. Not two hours ago, I told my brother the entire story line of the book from beginning to end. We were on our way back from Sonic, so he he was trapped in the car with me and had to listen. But I didn’t feel too bad, since I had just treated him to a delicious chocolate shake. And anyway, I think he was amused by the short summary I gave him of this darling book.

Darling…that’s the perfect word to describe this story. If I were ever to write a book, this would be it. Golly, Kate DiCamillo, why did you have to think of this first?!

In all, this took me only a couple hours to read (and I’m a slow reader). I was hooked from the very first page! And the book contains very darling illustrations, as well.

And now, here’s the gist of the story:

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is told from the perspective of a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. This rabbit isn’t like Woody from Toy Story. He can’t move around at all or even talk. He simply does what every other ordinary china rabbit would do…sit still, staring in whichever way he happens to be placed.

Despite his lack of mobility, there’s a lot going on in Edward’s head. At the beginning of the story, Edward is cocky and stuck up. He’s very proud of his looks (which you can see below), and he is very pampered by his loving owner. But by a strange turn of events, Edward is ripped from his comfortable life.

I would really like to go further with my summary, but I don’t want to spoil it. I’ll just say that Edward experiences many unexpected events and meets a lot of new people, and–in the end–he is a drastically changed rabbit.

This might sound like too much of a children’s story for any adult to consider reading, but I really enjoyed it. It is very amusing–I laughed aloud at several parts. And it is also very touching–I even cried at times! So go on–pick up this book at your local library and read for a couple hours. You won’t regret it!

And if you do read it (or have already read it), let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

