Books

Shortening a to-read list (if it’s even possible)

I went into the 2015 year without a reading plan. At least two books a month–that was my goal (which I met, by the way 🙂 ). As far as what I was going to read, I had no idea. I read various random books that I had never intended to read, while my to-read list sat unchanged. At least, it didn’t shrink much at all, because I didn’t do much to make it shrink (It grew plenty, though). The point is that books which were on my to-read list in 2014 (and even way before that!) are still on my to-read list.

2016 will be different. I will–I declare, I WILL–take a huge chunk out of my to-read list. True, for every book I read I’ll add another book to the list. But at least the list will no longer be comprised of books which have sat there for years.

Right now, there are 42 books (some of them series) on my Goodreads to-read list. I have picked out 15 of these books to read next year. (I know I can read more books. I’ve finished 26 books so far this year, but I want to leave a little room for spontaneity).

And so, without further ado, here are 15 books which will definitely be removed from to-read list within the following year:

  1. Passion and Purity, by Elisabeth Elliot
  2. Roverandom, by J.R.R. Tolkien
  3. Ross Poldark, by Winston Graham
  4. The Tombs of Atuan, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  5. The Farthest Shore, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  6. Austenland, by Shannon Hale
  7. The Schwa Was Here, by Neal Shusterman
  8. Leota’s Garden, by Francine Rivers
  9. The Four Loves, by C.S. Lewis
  10. Sarah, Plain and Tall, by Patricia MacLachlan
  11. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, by E.L. Konigsburg
  12. Mansfield Park, by Jane Austen
  13. Phantastes, by George MacDonald
  14. The Princess Bride, by William Goldman
  15. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith

Do you all have any books you’ve been wanting to read forever, but have never managed to? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Shortening a to-read list (if it’s even possible)

Leave a Reply

