Inspirational

Just a few quotes…

If you have kept up with my blog at all, then you’ll notice that I mainly write a bunch of fluff. Sad to say it–but true. Don’t get me wrong, it’s been fun to write about all the things that I enjoy, consisting mainly of books, crafts, and entertaining travels, but you should easily be able to tell that I am not journalist material. And I am most definitely not an encouragement writer.

Some of my favorite blogs to read are full of Christian encouragement, but whenever I think of coming anywhere close to writing something like that, I shrivel up inside. One blog I like to read–Single Christians Girls–refers to this as a “vulnerability hangover.” Basically, if I write down (or say too much of) something that I would typically write in a private journal, I wake up the next morning full of regret and embarrassment. I mean, I’m one of those people who still stresses over silly things I said or did 5+ YEARS AGO! I overthink things big time!

All of this has been said to lead up to the point that I will once again not be making any profound points or offering up any touching thoughts. However, I will use a few quotes from a few sources to speak for me. They can say stuff much better than I can.

1. “Thirty was so strange for me. I’ve really had to come to terms with the fact that I am now a walking and talking adult.” -C.S. Lewis

First of all, I’m not thirty yet. But I have been experiencing this feeling a lot lately! Am I really in my late twenties?! Not that I consider myself old, but it’s scary to think that I’m old enough for younger people to rely on. A lot of times, I feel like I’m pretending to be an adult, until I remember that I actually am an adult!

2. “To love is to be vulnerable.” -C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis says it all. And you already know some of my thoughts on vulnerability. It’s tough.

3. “I was quiet, but I was not blind.” -Jane Austen

Jane, my friend, I know what you mean.

4.”Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” -Proverbs 3:5

In all honesty, I could list a long string of bible verses, but this one especially touches the heart at this moment.

Leave a Reply

