Books, Library

Taking my Reading Challenges Seriously

So, here’s the deal. I’ve been very neglectful of my blog lately, but with very good excuses.

#1: My sister’s wedding. As I mentioned in my last post, my sister had a wedding this summer, and who’s to think about blogging with a wedding approaching?

#2: Summer Reading Program at the library: Anyone working in a public library will understand. Students have it easy. Even working in a college library is pretty easy, with their long, slow summer days (I can talk because I’ve been there). But public libraries? Oh, no. Summer is the hectic time for public librarians, especially for those in the children’s department. Want a vacation in the middle of summer? TOO BAD.

…All of this to say…no, I did not want to come home and blog after long days of programs and small children.

#3: READING CHALLENGES!: I did, however, find plenty of time for reading–miraculously. I’ve gone a bit overboard with reading challenges this year. It all started with an earlier blog post, which can be accessed HERE. Then, add a young adult literature class to the mix, and–BOOM! ten more books, at least. Next, a friend invites me to do this challenge:

12400534_10206119052435042_7130715003443712147_n

I’ve done surprisingly well on all of my challenges so far, considering that I also added in some books that were not on any of the above mentioned lists (i.e. The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes and Women of the Word by Jen Wilkin).

So why do I bother with these self-made goals? I don’t know. It must be my competitive nature, even though I’m not competing with anyone.

And of course, my classes begin next week, and I have ten more books to go (three of which I’m already in the middle of reading. Oh, why didn’t I save any of the light-hearted reads for the last half of the year? Here’s what I have left:

  1. Passion and Purity, by Elisabeth Elliot
  2. Ross Poldark, by Winston Graham
  3. The Tombs of Atuann, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  4. The Farthest Shore, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  5. The Four Loves, by C.S. Lewis
  6. Mansfield Park, by Jane Austen
  7. Phantastes, by George MacDonald
  8. The Princess Bride, by William Goldman
  9. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith
  10. Winter Garden, by Kristin Hannah

Maybe I should create a blogging challenge for myself next year. Yeah?

Leave a Reply

