Holidays

Happy (Almost) Halloween!

happy-halloween

It’s nearly half-way through October, and I haven’t mentioned a thing about Halloween. This year has sped by, and it’s so shocking to realize that Christmas really is just around the corner. I love Halloween and autumn and will enjoy the pumpkins, the autumn leaves, and the Halloween candy, but–for me–Christmas is the light at the end of a very long tunnel. This semester of library school has been a tough one–very busy and very stressful. The thought of getting to Christmas–which is so close, yet so far away–is what’s keeping me sane. However, before getting too excited, I want to recognize the season with a blog post. A couple years ago, I wrote some Halloween posts about my favorite scary movies and story books. Check them out here!

Spooky Movie Time!

Spooky Stories for Halloween

That year, I also wrote a post about a spooky silent film that my siblings and I made with two of my nephews. Check out the post below and watch the short silent film on YouTube! The film was a little time consuming to make (especially for my sister who edited it and added the music), but it was completely worth it. It was a great time to spend with the kids! We also made two sequels, plus some silly films about an evil teddy bear. Fun times.

A (Fantastic) Spooky Silent Film

This year, I don’t have much to add about the subject of Halloween, except to say that I’ve been thinking hard about what I should be for my library’s fall festival. I think I’ve come to a decision: Luke Skywalker. My friend Ashlee, who I’ve mentioned in several other blog posts, gave me a Yoda backpack once that will work perfectly for my costume.

Also, I’ve had fun trying to pick good Halloween books to use for story time at my library. Growing up, my siblings and I thrived on reading spooky books, like Heckedy Peg by Audrey Wood, as well as the books mentioned in my “Spooky Stories” blog post (above). We’ve also read these books to my nephews and nieces over and over. However, they’re a bit too long and a bit too spooky to use for story time. For next week, I remembered a couple other books I could use. Thinking of them gives takes me back. One is Popcorn by Frank Asch and the other is The Teeny Tiny Woman by Jane O’Connor. Does anyone else remember these?

I’m sure I’ll have the same problem next month for Thanksgiving and during Christmastime. If anyone has any good recommendations for story time books, let me know!

Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Happy (Almost) Halloween!

  1. I saw your Nerdy Book Post and checked out your blog. I hate to be a sameless self-promoter, but a sweet book to read in November is one of mine – BEFORE I SLEEP: I SAY THANK YOU. It encourages gratitude. Perfect for Thanksgiving, or any time during the year. I’d be happy to send you sheets made by the illustrator for children to fill out what they’re grateful for, if you’re interested. Check out the book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qbf_KXG73HY

  2. Scary, Scary Halloween by Eve Bunting has been a long-time favorite of mine. With beautiful pictures by Jan Brett, it’s a seasonal request.

Leave a Reply

