Holidays, Music

7 Lovely Love-Songs for Valentine’s Day

It seems that Valentine’s Day is the event which will resurrect my blog. Only, my blog wasn’t dead…just hibernating for a little while.

I’ve written a lot about Valentine’s Day in the past. For example, I wrote about how much I love Valentine’s Day. Another time, I wrote about mine and my sister’s nerdy Valentine’s traditions. I enjoy Valentine’s Day…making cards, eating chocolate, reading all of the clever love puns and movie references that are incorporated into cards. A friend of mine used to call today “Friendship-Awareness Day,” in contrast to “Singleness-Awareness Day,” and that’s how I like to celebrate it.

As a Valentine’s Day treat, I would like to share a few of my favorite love songs. I’ve recently discovered a couple new ones that I like, and this will give me a perfect excuse to share them. Make sure to click on the link of each title so you can hear the tunes for yourself!

1) JJ Heller’s “The Very Thought of You”

This is a remake of an old classic…simple, sweet, and with gorgeous lyrics. I have a feeling if I ever fell in love that this would be the song I would hum to myself constantly.

“The mere idea of you, the longing here for you.
You’ll never know how slow the moments go till I’m near to you.
I see your face in every flower,
Your eyes in stars above.
It’s just the thought of you,
The very thought of you, my love.”

2) Audrey Assad’s “Ought to Be”

This song is one of my more recent discoveries. I just adore the comparisons with nature, starting with the first line: “I love you more than a slow falling summer rain, more than the silence that only the snow leaves behind.” This makes my poetic heart sprout flowers! And the chorus is also wonderful, showing that the love that is already so strong and sure will continue to grow:

“It may not be red as a rose is yet.
It may not be strong as the old oak trees.
But love planted deeply becomes what it ought to be”

3) The Vespers’ “All I Want is You”

This song is also a cover, but I love everything by The Vespers. These lyrics are built completely on metaphors that make my literary heart soar. The song starts like this and continues with similar adorable thoughts:

“If I was a flower growing wild and free
All I’d want is you to be my sweet honey bee.
And if I was a tree growing tall and green
All I’d want is you to shade me and be my leaves.”

4) Flannel Graph’s “Mr. Robin Hood”

Flannel Graph is one of my newer favorite musicians. Go check them out! Like the previous song, this song is built around imaginary scenarios. What can I say? I like that kind of stuff. My favorite is the allusion to Robin Hood. With these lyrics, I can imagine I’m in Sherwood Forest with my imaginary love:

“If we lived in the woods, would you be my Mr. Robin Hood? We can make our mattress out of moss, build a cabin miles from the chaos.”

5) Bethany Dillon’s “Covenant”

This is from Bethany Dillon’s–now Bethany Barnard’s–newest album. It is deeper than the last four songs, and describes the depth and meaning of marriage–how love is more than just feelings, but a covenant:

“O, the covenant that we are living in. It’s more than rings on hands. It’s a “yes” to the unknown. And in seasons of doubt, when famine comes around, we go to the store house, to the one who is always faithful.”

6) Bebo Norman’s “A Page Is Turned”

This is a song I have listened to over and over for years, and I’ve always thought it was romantic. It tells the story of how God forms a little girl and a little boy into a man and woman who can support each other during the good times and the bad:

“Where the God of second chance
Will pick them up and he’ll let them dance
Through a world that is not kind,
And all this time, they’re sharing with the one
That holds them up when they come undone.”

7) JJ Heller’s “Meant to Be”

We started with JJ Heller, and we’ll end with her, too–on a light note. Make sure to definitely check out the video for this one because it’s about British squirrels, and it’s adorable. The video depicts the squirrels living every day life together, and it shows how much they love each other even through the ordinary chores of day-to-day life. The lyrics of the song reflect the same meaning:

“I’ll make you dinner,
You do the laundry.
We’ll make mistakes,
Then say we’re sorry.
Our love will bend,
But it won’t break
When we give more than we take.

When God made you,
He already knew
That we were meant to be.
With love as deep
As the big blue sea,
We were meant to be.”

Thanks for reading! Hope you’ve all been having a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

night-city-lights-abstract-heart-bokeh-trick-picjumbo-com

Leave a Reply

