Inspirational, Wise Words Series

Wise Words #1: Removing Myself, Inserting God

wise-words-1

Though homework is calling out to me, wanting to be completed as soon as possible, I am intentionally stifling the cry in order to write this blog post. Believe me, doing homework is an easy thing to delay–though sometimes not wise. But don’t worry, I still have plenty of time to focus on school in the coming week.

This is the very first of my “Wise Words” series. As I mentioned in my last post, this series is simply a way for me to share the wise, beautiful, or poignant words that I happen upon in my readings. The above photo shows the journal that contains all of the words I hope to share with you all in the future.

Today’s “wise words” come from Jen Wilkin’s Women of the Word, which I read last year. Despite how the title sounds, this book can be read by anyone. Other than the occasional “we women…” statements, the content of this book is for both men and women. In the last half of this book, Wilkin describes a very specific way to study books of the bible. I haven’t tried this method yet, but I hope to some time in the future. Her method takes a lot of time and goes in depth. It takes me back to the days of analyzing poetry and other works in high school English class.

The first half of the book applies to anyone, no matter what method they use to study the Bible. In this section, Wilkin focuses on how readers’ should prepare themselves and what their focus should be as they study the Bible.

That’s where today’s “wise words” come in. This passage refers to Exodus 3 and 4, when God talks to Moses through the burning bush. So, if you need a little context, go read that. Here is what Jen Wilkin writes:

“For an entire chapter and a half of Exodus, Moses asks the wrong questions: Who am I? What should I do? Rather than answer him, ‘Moses, you are my chosen servant. You are my precious creation, a gifted and wise leader,’ God responds by completely removing Moses from the subject of the discussion and inserting himself. He answers Moses’s self-focused question of ‘Who am I?’ with the only answer that matters: ‘I AM.’”

-Jen Wilkin, from Women of the Word

I can’t tell you how many times I have heard the story of Moses and the burning bush. Yet, even so, this passage from Women of the Word makes me think about this story differently than I ever have before. In this instance, Wilken uses this story to explain how God is THE main character of the Bible, and how he–not we–should be at the forefront of our minds while studying the Bible. Yet the truth found in Exodus can extend to every situation.

“It’s not about me. It’s all about God.” –When I was in middle school, some of the members of the youth group made lime green t-shirts with these words on it–these words which exactly reflect the point of the wise words being shared today. Ultimately, this truth should eradicate worry. Moses repeatedly provides his “buts” and “what ifs,” but God basically says, “Don’t think about that. Think about Me.”

Yet sadly, just like everyone else, I have forgotten this over and over again and will continue to do so in the future. This is why we must all remind ourselves over and over again of who God is–that he is bigger than our worries and bigger than ourselves, thank goodness. I only hope that this blog post has served as a reminder for someone today.

Until next time!

jen-wilkin-quote

Wilkin, Jen. 2014. Women of the Word. Wheaton, Illinois: Crossway.

1 thought on “Wise Words #1: Removing Myself, Inserting God”

  1. Such a great post! Thank you for those wise words. That really spoke to my heart and it is so true! This is something I need to remeber often. I will look into the book as well.

Leave a Reply

